Paper Leaf Wreath

After seeing a tutorial for a paper wreath on the internet, I decided to make my own out of the scraps let over from my previous paper project (see here).  There’s not really much to say to be honest, as there are so many tutorials out there for paper wreaths already.

Paper Wreath

I chose a fairly simple design, which involved cutting out hundreds (or at least, it felt like that many!) of leaf shapes, folding them in half lengthways (to create a 3D shape – this is important, otherwise you just get a boring flat wreath!).  I then arranged them in bunches of threes and stapled them to the cardboard circle I’d made out of a cereal box.  Once I’d completed the circle, I then stuck leaves in areas that looked a bit sparse, so to make the wreath look fuller.

Paper offcuts from bunting

Cardboard template

Stapling the leaves to the wreath

I think it looks quite effective hanging up with a ribbon, and considering I still have the majority of the book I bought, I’m thinking of trying out a different style to hang elsewhere in the flat as well!

Cost of item: 

Ribbon: Free (already owned)

Cardboard: Free (scrounged from an existing cereal box… My Frosties are now sitting boxless on the shelf!)

Paper leaves:  Free (scraps left over from previous paper project)

Total: Freeee! (Yay!)

(and I’ve already had an order off a friend to make her one for her house for Christmas!)

3 thoughts on “Paper Leaf Wreath

  1. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, awesome site!

  2. Pingback: Christmas Part 5: Deck the Halls « Paintpots and Pancakes

Have anything to add? Please leave a comment below - I'd love to hear your feedback!

