Pumpkin Patch

A sharp knife and a small squat pumpkin doth make… Some pretty leaf shapes and an Autumnal pumpkin!

(I don’t normally post so soon after the one – yesterday – but couldn’t resist taking some photos and showing you all the finished product!).  It was my first ever time carving a pumpkin, and I wanted an Autumnal theme rather than a particularly Halloweeny theme, so that I could use it through the week.. Plus I think it’s prettier! 🙂

I changed the display on top to the bookcase to something a little more stark (I got rid of the red flower, my Peace Lily and my little green glass in order to make the candlelit lanterns more effective).  The ‘Home’ sign is nicely lit up with both lights on either side.

I was surprised at how easy it was to carve the leaves (J was also impressed by my carving skills!), though the knife was a little difficult to wield as it was longer than felt comfortable to use (however, it had a good serrated edge, so it was necessary).

I drew the pattern on the pumpkin before I even cut off the top and hollowed it out (I know that you’re not supposed to do that first, but I was impatient!)

Here’s a couple of more ‘spooky’ photos, where the pumpkin candle and the little star lantern were the only lights in the room (poor J was waiting by the sink  in the dark to re-commence washing up, whilst I took these!)

Happy Autumn! xx


2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Patch

  1. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will eventually come back down the road. I want to encourage that you continue your great work, have a nice evening!

Have anything to add? Please leave a comment below - I'd love to hear your feedback!

