Christmas Part 2: Cute Christmas Trees

So… Onto the second preparation post for Christmas… I have bought basic green and silver baubles for my non-existant christmas tree (I have yet to buy one… I’m putting it off for now), but wanted to create some handmade ornaments that I could keep for years and re-use, and remember my first Christmas time in my own flat.

Felt Christmas Tree Decoration

Unfortunately I only took one picture of the finished decoration (I completely forgot to take pictures along the way… Oops!).

What you’ll need to make these cute decorations:

small buttons x 3 (for each tree)

dark green felt

red ribbon

contrasting colour of wool / thick thread

wadding

Step 1:  Cut out two identical christmas tree shapes out of the felt (I used a template that I’d made to ensure that each tree cutout was absolutely identical).

Step 2:  Take one tree cutout and sew the loop of red ribbon securely on to the top of the tree, so that we can hang the decoration up (the ends of the ribbon will be completely hidden once the tree is all sewn up!).

Step 3:  Take the other tree cutout and sew the buttons on the front of it carefully, to give the effect of baubles.

Step 4:  Carefully line up the two cutouts (the one with the ribbon on the bottom, with the side with the ribbon sewn on faceing upwards, and then the other with the buttons also facing upwards).  Pin the two pieces of material together – this helps keep it all aligned once we start sewing it all up.

Step 5:  Start sewing along the edges of the tree, making sure to leave a couple of milimetres of felt between the edge and the sewing line (this allows for the felt to tear / fray slightly).  Sew up the edges, but leave one edge free for now (I left the top edge open).

Step 6:  Stuff the wadding through the small opening left in the felt pouch, until you are happy with the paddedness of the tree  (don’t ask me… I couldn’t think of a better word at the time.. blame it on my lack of energy, yeah?) .

Step 7:  Sew up the final edge and finish off by tying the ends of wool together carefully behind the ribbon, and cutting off the excess wool / thread close to the knot.

Ta-da, now you have a cute little christmas tree decoration!

I had a little production line going (I cut out all the tree shapes first, then sewed on all the buttons, then sewed up all the trees, and then stuffed the wadding inside…).  I think each tree probably took me about 15 – 20 mins to make, and I was able to watch TV whilst I was making them, so it’s a nice winter evening craft to do whilst all cosied up on the sofa!

7 thoughts on “Christmas Part 2: Cute Christmas Trees

  1. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

  2. Pingback: Elektrische Zahnbuerste

  3. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I’m quite certain I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  4. Pingback: Oh Christmas Tree, Oh Christmas Tree… « Paintpots and Pancakes

  5. Pingback: The 10 Posts of Christmas « Paintpots and Pancakes

Have anything to add? Please leave a comment below - I'd love to hear your feedback!

