Oh Christmas Tree, Oh Christmas Tree…

…Thou tree most fair and lovely!
The sight of thee at Christmastide
Spreads hope and gladness far and wide
Oh Christmas tree, O Christmas tree
Thou tree most fair and lovely!…

So, massive hint over, I put my Christmas tree up last weekend.  My Mum had come to stay for a couple of days, so I coincided it with her being here, as it was always a tradition when I was younger to put the Christmas tree up together as a family (bar my Dad, who was usually at work, and would come home to a prettily decorated house).  Even when I was away at university, my Mum would wait for me to arrive home for the holidays to decorate the tree with her.  We’d put some Christmas songs on, make some mulled wine (recipe to be posted in a blogpost soon), and would cosy up and enjoy the finished tree afterwards.

This year, I’m not going home to my family until late on 23rd December, so I miss out on the all the decoration fun at home.  Because of this, and because I have my own flat now, I’ve been making and finding decorations for my very own tree.  Mum coming for an impromptu visit was perfect timing for putting up the tree, with – of course – a Christmas music accompaniment (this year, it was Casting Crown’s “Peace on Earth”).

And without further ado, here are the pictures of my decorated tree (my very first own tree!)…

The candle ornament was given to me as one of my flat-warming gifts from J’s parents, and goes perfectly with the wooden angels (to the right of the photo), and the wooden birds (at the bottom of the phot0).

The felt bauble was one that I made… A slightly different variation on the christmas tree felt baubles.  I finished off the baubles with a wooden tree button, to tie in with the wooden theme I seem to have going on the tree…

The felt mouse with the candy cane tail was given to me by my Mum (there’s a green one hiding round the other side of the tree… one for me, one for J).

Ta-da!  Doesn’t my tree look pretty with all the lights and baubles on it?

Pin It

Have anything to add? Please leave a comment below - I'd love to hear your feedback!

