Christmas Part 10: Quick and Easy Homemade Chocolate Truffles

I’m off home to the family today, which meant a mad dash packing up presents and trying to work out what to take for a week’s break last night.  As I’d been so busy the last couple of weeks with work, I still needed to make the annual Christmas chocolates that I always make for my aunts, uncles and grandparents.

Note: Family members look away NOW else your present is spoiled… BUT if you’re interested (and like them when I give them to you, keep reading, and you can find out how I made them!)

Chocolate Oreo Truffles

2 packets of oreo cookies (the normal 154g cookie packets)

4 oz butter (I use marg)

300g plain chocolate

two tbsps icing sugar

chocolate sprinkles and icing sugar to decorate

Recipe

1) Crush the oreo cookies into fine crumbs (I used a food processor for this, so it only took 5 minutes).

2) melt the chocolate and butter in a saucepan until liquid and mixed together.

3) mix the 2 tbsps icing sugar with the cookie crumbs, and then pour the liquid chocolate over.  Mix well and leave to sit for 10 minutes to firm.

4) Take small teaspoonful amount of the mixture, roll lightly in your hands to create truffle ball shapes, and then roll in the sprinkles (or icing sugar if you prefer).  Place on a plate to harden for 30 minutes.  Then serve.  These should keep for about 2 weeks out of the fridge.  The mixture should make around 60 – 70 truffles.

All in all, they took me about 30 minutes to make, and they were super easy, no hassle, and look really really good.  I made a mix of icing sugar-covered and sprinkle-covered ones, and they compliment each other well.

I took time to package them carefully, in little cardboard Christmas cups I bought from IKEA, and then wrapped them in a clear cellophane bag, tied with a  red ribbon and a little name tag.

One thought on “Christmas Part 10: Quick and Easy Homemade Chocolate Truffles

  1. Pingback: The 10 Posts of Christmas « Paintpots and Pancakes

Have anything to add? Please leave a comment below - I'd love to hear your feedback!

