Healthy Eton Mess

So one of my New Year’s resolutions this year was to be more healthy.  I’m pretty good at eating the 5-a-day of fruit and veg (I sometimes eat up to 7-a-day without noticing, as I use fruit as a snack through the day).  However, I’m fond of nice desserts and cakes… I don’t have them often… But they call my name in supermarkets (and I ignore them to the best of my ability).  I recently craved an unhealthy dessert – Eton Mess – so instead of giving in to it, I decided to make my own healthy version, which would take the edge off the craving.

Healthy Eton Mess (makes 1 serving)

1 digestive biscuit

1 small meringue nest

handful of raspberries / summer berries

125g natural yoghurt

Recipe

  1. Crush the digestive biscuit, and place in the bottom of the bowl (I used a wine glass because it looked prettier!).
  2. Crush the meringue, enough to create small chunks, but not too small, as they will dissolve in the yoghurt otherwise.
  3. Mix the berries with the yoghurt, and at the last minute, add the meringue pieces.
  4. Spoon carefully on top of the biscuit base, and serve immediately, with a garnish of berries on top.

This was super easy and quick to make, and I felt much better afterwards for not eating quite so much fat and calories as a normal Eton Mess would’ve served me, through all that thick cream.

The yoghurt goes well with the meringue, and the sweetness of the berries and meringue will hopefully curb any cream craving you have!

Enjoy!

Have anything to add? Please leave a comment below - I'd love to hear your feedback!

